Refuse Transfer Stations

Refuse Transfer Stations

The two Refuse Transfer Stations (RTS) in Hastings District are depots for the public to dispose of their general waste, garden waste and recycling. At the stations, garden waste (or ‘Green Waste’) is separated and carted to the composting plant BioRich in Awatoto. General Waste is transferred to Omarunui Landfill, and various recyclables such as electronic waste (or ‘E-waste’), glass, paper, plastic, and scrap metal are all transported to various local and national processors.

Henderson Rd allows you to recycle your old car batteries, televisions, white ware, an assortment of household goods, and used motor oil. Both transfer stations incur a fee for disposal of general waste and green waste. Recycling and orange bag drop-offs are free.

Our famous Green Bins are coming to Henderson Road!

In 2017, the Henderson Road Recycling Centre will be upgraded to feature our user-friendly Green Bin recycling containers. Seven containers will be installed to improve capacity, site tidiness, flow, safety and ease of use. Watch this space for further news.


Henderson Road Refuse Transfer Station

Opening Hours

  • Monday to Saturday - 7.45am to 4.30pm
  • Sunday and public holidays 9.45am to 4.30pm
  • Closed Good Friday, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day

Blackbridge Refuse Transfer Station

Opening Hours

  • Mondays - 7.30am to 5pm
  • Saturday and Sunday - 9am to 5pm
  • Closed Good Friday, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day


View the Refuse Transfer Station Charges page for the current list.


For more information, contact the Waste Minimisation Team on phone (06) 871 5000 or email