Hearings on the Proposed Hastings District Plan

 
Hearings for original and further submissions were held at the Hastings District Council Chambers between July 2014 and July 2015. A total of 46 hearings occurred over the 13 month period.  The hearings were undertaken by the District Plan Hearings Committee, (with exception of the hearing on the Irongate industrial rezoning requests) and were open to everyone to attend.

The Committee comprised Councillors Mick Lester (Chair), George Lyons (Deputy Chair), Cynthia Bowers, Kevin Watkins and Peter Kay (Rural Community Board Chair). The Maori Joint Committee also had a representative at some hearings. This role was shared by Te Rangihau Gilbert, Robin Hape and Tracee Te Huia.  All the committee members are accredited hearings commissioners.

The Hearings were conducted by plan sections with across the zone issues, requests to rezone land and scheduled activity requests also heard separately.

The Hastings District Council Policy Planner's prepared a report for each topic which was available five working days before that topic was heard. That report provided recommendations to the District Plan Hearings Committee on suggested changes to the Proposed Plan in response to the submissions and further submissions received, and in considering the statutory requirements of the Resource Management Act 1991.

List of Submitters and Further Submitters connected to each hearing are available here. (tip: use ‘Control’ ‘F’ function on the keyboard to search names).

All Decision Reports are available here

Below is the hearings schedule undertaken, (listed by Hearing Date).

HEARING DATE

PLAN SECTION OR ISSUE

 

Monday 14th July 2014

Section 21.1 Papakainga

 

Section 19.1 Riparian Land Management

 

Across Zone Submission – Submitter, NZ Defence Force, (provision for Temporary Military Training Activities)

 

Across Zone Submission –

HB Forestry Group, Rayonier NZ Ltd & Pan Pac Forestry & Logistics (Include searchable page number system and review alpha numeric system for objectives & policies)

 

 

Across Zone Submission –

Hawke's Bay District Health Board Submission - Tyre Storage Across All Residential Zones 
 

Across Zone Submission – Hawke’s Bay Regional Council

(Apply the requirement to install inert roofing material on new development across all zones).

 

Tuesday 15 July 2014

 

Section 20.1 Indigenous Vegetation

 

 

Wednesday 16 July 2014

 

Across Zone Submission - John Roil

(Opposition to the Proposed District Plan as a whole)

 

Across Zone Submission – Ministry of Education (Make it more permissive to have Education Facilities & Places of Assembly)

 

Section 24.1 Activities on the Surface of the water

 

 

Section 23.1 Renewable Energy Section

 

Section 13.2 Regional Sports Park

 

Thursday 24 July 2014

 

Section 13.1 Open Space Environments and Across Zone Submission

Hawke’s Bay Golf Club and HDC Parks Assets – (Make it more permissive to have recreation activities across zones)

Section 13.2 Regional Sports Park

 

Tuesday 5 August 2014

 

Section 7.3 Commercial Service Zone

Remaining Commercial Zones were held on 7 Nov 2014.

 

Wednesday 6 August 2014

Section 7.3  Commercial Environments

Sections 9.1 - 9.3 Flaxmere

 

Thursday 7 August 2014

 

Sections 9.1 - 9.3 Flaxmere

 

Section 5.1 and 5.2 Rural SMA and Rural Zone  

 

Thursday 14 August 2014

 

Section 7.2 Residential Zone  

 

Friday 15 August 2014

 

Across Zone Submission - Progressive Enterprises Sub 220 - supermarket issues

 

Wednesday 10 September 2014

 

Section 5.4 Tuki Tuki Special Character &

Section 8.4 Te Mata Special Character

 

Monday 29 September 2014

Zone Change Request:

Te Awanga Downs Family Trust  – Clifton / Gordon Road

 

Tuesday 30 September 2014

Section 11.1 & 11.2 Haumoana - Te Awanga continued

 

Wednesday 15 October 2014

Section 27.1 Earthworks

 

Thursday 6 November 2014

 

Section 1.0 Introduction & Strategy Sections 2.1 - 2.10

 

Friday 7 November 2014

Section 7.3 Commercial Zones Hastings Commercial Zones (except Commercial Service Zone)

 

Wednesday 19 November 2014

Section 8.1 and 8.2 Havelock North Residential

 

Thursday 20 November 2014

Section 8.5 Havelock North Village Centre

 

Monday 1 December 2014

Section 6.1 Plains SMA , Section 6.2 Plains Production Zone & Section 6.3 Plains Settlement Zone

 

Tuesday 2 December 2014

Section 6.1 Plains SMA , Section 6.2 Plains Production Zone & Section 6.3 Plains Settlement Zone

 

Wednesday 3 December 2014

Section 25.1 Noise

 

Tuesday 20 January 2015

Section 5.3 Rural Residential (includes Tony Hawkins rezoning request)

Section 8.3 Havelock North Rural Residential 

 

Wednesday 21 January 2015

Section 22.1 Network Utilities

Section 31.1 Designations & Across Zone Stormwater Standard

 

Monday 9 February 2015

Section 16.1 Waahi Tapu (Postponed to 6 & 7 May)

 

Tuesday 10 February 2015

Section 14.1 Industrial

 

Monday 16 February 2015

Section 26.1 Transport & Parking – except Access Issue

 

Tuesday 17 February 2015

Zone Change Requests:

8-16 Hikanui Drive, Havelock North

Donovan, Landsdale Development Limited, Bourke, Wezel and McNamara - Brookvale Road, Havelock North,

Taikura Rudolf Steiner School - Nelson Street

Miriam Lugt  - Corner Heretaunga Street East & Willowpark Road South, Hastings

Cara Hart - Burnett Street, Hastings 

 

Tuesday 24 February 2015

Section 3 Manawhenua 

Section 4 Information Requirements ,

Section 32 Monitoring

Section 7.4 Hospital Zone

 

Tuesday 3 March 2015

Section 10.1-10.3 Clive Whakatu 

Across Zone Issue – (Backdated Density provisions )

 

Wednesday 4 March 2015

Section 28.1 Advertising Devices and Signs

 

Section 14.1 Industrial

Thursday 12 March 2015

Zone Change Request:

Ron Robbie - Lane Road, Havelock North

 

 

Friday 13 March 2015

Zone Change Requests:

Rudolf Steiner, Burbury Ridge, Havelock North,

Coop Group - Williams St, Hastings

Horiana Downs - Harper Road, Waimarama

Te Aute Holdings Ltd-  Te Aute Road, HNth

Collier and Henderson - 148 Clifton Road, Haumoana

 

Wednesday 25 March 2015

Sections 12.1-12.4 Coastal Environments

Section 15.1 Natural Hazards

Rezoning Request:

Mountcastle - Kaiapo Road, Hastings

 

Tuesday 31 March 2015

Section 17.1 Natural Landscape Features

 

Wednesday 1 April 2015

Section 30.1 Subdivision and Land Development

 

Monday 13 April 2015

Section 29.1 Hazardous Substances & GMO (Postponed until Tuesday 21 April)

 

Tuesday 14 April 2015

Section 18.1 Heritage and Notable Trees (Postponed until Tuesday 21 April)

 

Tuesday 21 April 2015

Section 33.1 Definitions

Section 18.1Heritage Items and Notable Trees

Zone Change Requests:

Gimblett Gravels Winegrowers Association

Elwood Road Holdings Limited - Tomoana Food Industry zoning

 

Wednesday 22 April 2015

Zone Change Requests:

JE Lowe & Landsdale Development Ltd - Iona Road Triangle, Havelock North 

G Lowe Properties Ltd - Iona Road Hills, Havelock North 

Lucknow Holdings – Ruahapia Road

Whakatu Industrial

R Holland - Tuki Tuki Special Character zone (3ha)

Suburban Commercial at Fernhill

Section 18.1 Notable Trees (28 Kuku Street, Te Awanga)

 

Wednesday 29 April 2015

Section 5.5 Nature Preservation Zone

 

Thursday 30 April 2015

Zone Change Requests - Omahu - postponed

 

Wednesday 6 and Thursday 7 May 2015

Section 16.1 – Waahi Tapu District Wide Activity

 

Wednesday 27 May 2015

Section 29.1 - Hazardous Substances and Genetically Modified Organisms District Wide Activity

 

Monday 8 June 2015

Zone Change Request:

TMF Trustees Ltd - 32 Keirunga Road  

 

Monday 15 June 2015

Zone Change Request:

Landsdale Development Ltd  - 86 & 96 Arataki Road, Havelock North  

 

Friday 19 June 2015

Section 5.5 Nature Preservation Zone – reconvened

 

Wednesday 1 July 2015

Section 26.1 Transport and Parking – Access Issues

Zone Change Requests:

K Stone, D Whiting, J Boyes - Ada / Howard St

Geor Family Trust - 375 St Georges Road 

 

Thursday 2 July 2015

Zone Change Request:

Raymond Road, Haumoana 

 

Wednesday 8 July 2015

Zone Change Request:

Clifton Bay Ltd – 380 Clifton Road, Te Awanga

 

Thursday 9 July 2015

Scheduled Activity requests

Zone Change Requests:

Cardno – 41 East Road, Haumoana

Evans Family Trust - North Shore Road, Whirinaki

 

Monday 13 July 2015

Scheduled Activity Requests:

Industrial (I6)

Holcim

Drillers Poultry

 

Monday 20 July 2015

Zone Change Requests in the Irongate Area

Maraekakaho Properties Ltd

Mike Walmsley Ltd

Navilluso Holdings

John Roil 

 

Postponed

Zone Change Request:

Omahu Road North